US to fingerprint travellers


The move affects citizens in 27 countries – including Australia, New Zealand, Britain and Japan – who had been allowed to travel within the United States without a visa for up to 90 days.

Under changes that will take effect by September 30, they will be fingerprinted and photographed when they enter through any of 115 international airports and 14 seaports.

The British Foreign Office today welcomed the move. A spokeswoman for the British Foreign Office said: “UK passengers will understand why the US has introduced these safety measures”.

The visa-waiver countries are: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Britain, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.