Australia to observe Indonasian election


The April 5 elections will be one of the largest and most complex ever attempted, with Indonesians electing members of the legislative assemblies at the national, provincial and regional levels.

The Australian team will observe the election from the Indonesian provinces of West Java, Central Java, East Java, Lampung, South Sulawesi, East Kalimantan, Bali and East Nusa Tenggara, the Indonesian Embassy said today.

It said the Indonesian Electoral Commission accredited the eight Australian observers on March 15.

The Australian team is West Australian Liberal Senator David Johnston, West Australian Labor Senator Ruth Webber, Senator Stott Despoja, Queensland Liberal backbencher Margaret May, Sean Gilliland, Robert Hunter, Warwick Stevens and Peter Basset.